//
you're reading...
Go Trends, Go Worldwide

report: 2 test games on new web based LANKE GO Server (LKGS) from China

As Non-Asian with European background I did my first two test games on 6th + 7th December against a 4kyu (LKGS) after I discovered the new address this week on Facebook.

1st test game I lost as white (b+21.5)
my late attack on black’s bottom right corner failed…
screenshot-1st-test-game-lkgs-06122014-2-e1417968987589.resized

2nd test game I won (b+resign)…
white’s top left corner didnt survive and the centre oriented style worked
Screenshot-2nd-testgame-LKGS-07122014-1.resized

Mostly I felt comfortable during the playing… the board design, the sound clicking, the chat window… the timer… inclusive the counting, all works fine. Luckily I had some help from Eng speaking moderator/developer to get some orientation with the “chinese voice announcments” and “chinese buttons” 🙂

LKGS is a young GO server and if the Go community around the globe has the patiency to wait till some essentials are programmed further on by the smal team (3 developers), e.g. reviews and a fully English translation of the menus, then LKGS might have a future.

Java free and browser based GO servers are something many are waiting for so I see it. They have a future, e.g. seeing the problems with KGS registration because of Java security issues. The concurrence OGS is an American Go server (the both developers/owners are US guys) which has some specific issues in positive and negative, as all online Go servers have (so experienced on my own on KGS, Tygem and Wbaduk).

Another aspect is the server stability… I had different disconnections during the 1st and more during 2nd game as I have known it from OGS (online-go.com), too. Maybe it is helpfully that this server with *.cc domain is mirrored continental, e.g. Europe + America to have lower latency.

Lets see how Asian/Chinese brain power can bring this new project forward… 🙂

About LinuxGooo

I am a real Go Beginner… but I like to learn and have fun with. And I fell in love with playing for influence (mainly San-RenSei fuseki, Cosmic style) as white and black. … 26th Jan 2014 I started on KGS (as 6-7kyu since Sept), another global GO Server on the web. On 4th March 2014 I registrated on OGS (Online Go Server). In July I began to play on Korean servers, on Tygem (10kyu) and on Wbaduk (11kyu). If possible by time, I like to have reviews and analysis of my games, which helps to progress (beside observing/Kibitzing Dan games). – My special thanks go to different KGS teachers/players for audio lectures and individual reviews: Dsaun (N.Y.), Battusai, TapJoshua (4D), Troll (2D), MXHero (5D), Shygost (3D), Mingjiu Jiang (7P)… not to forget all the other KGS players who offered me their knowledge and shared their personal experiences. My special tks go to Dsaun for his audio lecture “Shape” (on 22nd Febr 2014) which was the first step into a systemtical learning. Currently I study with www.321go.org and with the first GO book: “Graded Go Problems for Beginners” (Vol. 1-4) by Kano Yoshinori. Volume 1: Introductory Problems Volume 2: Elementary Problems VOlume 3: Intermediate Problems Volume 4: Advanced Problems For individual “offline training” I experimented with and use different bot programmes: Aya 6.34 (1k), Oakfoam GNU Go 3.8 and Zenith 4.4. better known as Zen (5k-5D) (Rec.: Running these bots I use as front end (Goban) Drago.) For editing/rediting SGF files the programme MultiGo 4 is suitable. Have fun behind the board…

Discussion

One thought on “report: 2 test games on new web based LANKE GO Server (LKGS) from China

  1. Reblogged this on My Cat Plays Baduk and commented:
    Some thoughts on the new baduk server; I haven’t played myself, but sure will try it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by HeJin Kim | December 7, 2014, 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Calendar (posts)

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 51,469 hits
